Sportsmanship in Argentina

I guess a country who’s footballing hero describes his most famous goal as being scored “by the hand of God” would have a different way of looking at things. Boca Juniors coach, Jorge Benitez resigned yesterday after the events which ended Wednesday’s Copa Libratadores match early.

Benitez spat at one of the Chivas players now has quit because of the loogie.

“I lost control,” he (Benitez) told Radio Mitre. “When I saw the pictures, I realised I made a mistake.”

Um….yeah. When is spitting at someone NOT a mistake…especally in a packed stadium full of cameras? I guess he went to the Luis Hernandez school of making friends.

Leave a Reply

