LA has Drew Carey….

…and it seems DC has Jim “Soni” Sonefeld. Who, you ask? He’s the drummer for that bad Hootie and the Blowfish. Remember them? Yeah, they had that one song..how does it go?

Anyway, the have a new album coming out–didn’t even know they were still going–and the Washington Post interviewed Soni and talked about the boys in Black and Red.

How he become a fan sounds reasonable enough.

I still have pain stemming from the demise of the NASL, the North American Soccer League, because that was my dream, that was to be my future. I went to college in South Carolina with this dream of playing pro soccer. That league collapsed, and it wasn’t until MLS and D.C. United that I had a spark of another dream, but the mullet had passed years earlier. My bad haircut had already gone away, and music was my next adventure.

Then then they start talking about mullets.

Though I had to laugh at his response when asked the difference between Redskin fans and United fans.

Let’s see, I would say the Redskins fans right now are more humbled than D.C. United fans. D.C. United’s got a couple nice fresh rings from the past decade; Redskins fans are crying in their damn beer. D.C. United fans walk a little more proudly; Redskins fans, I think they’ve got their fists clenched. I don’t know who they’re going to punch, Daniel Snyder or the freaking Cowboys.

Maybe someone people know will be seen in the stands at an MLS match one day.

2 responses to “LA has Drew Carey….

  1. the one song is, “Only Want To Be With You”

  2. My buddy Daz…the Hootie and the Blowfish fan…who knew? 😉

Leave a Reply

